Senate Republicans Kick Off 2023-24 Legislative Session with New Members, Leadership

HARRISBURG – The Pennsylvania Senate convened today for the start of the 2023-24 legislative session, highlighted by the swearing in of members.

The proceedings also included the formal election of Sen. Kim Ward (R-39) as senate president pro tempore, as well as a vote on rules to govern the body for the next two years.

Among members taking the oath of office were five new Republican senators:

  • Rosemary Brown (R-40)
  • Jarrett Coleman (R-16)
  • Frank Farry (R-6)
  • Tracy Pennycuick (R-24)
  • Greg Rothman (R-34)

Republican senators sworn in after being re-elected are:

  • Ryan Aument (R-36)
  • Lisa Baker (R-20)
  • Camera Bartolotta (R-46)
  • Michele Brooks (R-50)
  • Chris Gebhard (R-48)
  • Kristin Phillips-Hill (R-28)
  • Pat Stefano (R-32)
  • Judy Ward (R-30)

The Senate Republican leadership team for 2023-24 is:

  • President Pro Tempore Kim Ward (R-39) 
  • Majority Leader Joe Pittman (R-41) 
  • Majority Whip Ryan Aument (R-36) 
  • Senate Appropriations Committee Chair Scott Martin (R-13) 
  • Majority Caucus Chair Kristin Phillips-Hill (R-28) 
  • Majority Caucus Secretary Camera Bartolotta (R-46) 
  • Majority Caucus Administrator Lisa Baker (R-20)
  • Majority Policy Committee Chair Dan Laughlin (R-49)

The Senate will return to voting session Monday, Jan. 9. Still to come are announcements of committee chairs and member committee assignments for 2023-24.

Voters gave Senate Republicans a 28-22 majority in the November 2022 General Election.

Back to Top