Appropriations Committee Approves Scavello Bill Requiring Senate Confirmation of Delaware River Joint Toll Bridge Commissioners

Harrisburg –Legislation sponsored by Senator Mario Scavello (R-40) requiring Senate confirmation of appointees to the Delaware River Joint Toll Bridge Commission (DRJTBC), Senate Bill 927, was approved unanimously today by the Senate Appropriations Committee.

“I appreciate my colleagues on the Senate Appropriations Committee moving this bill closer to a Senate vote and, hopefully, enactment,” Scavello said.

The DRJTBC is made up of five commissioners each from New Jersey and Pennsylvania. The New Jersey members are nominated by the governor and confirmed by the New Jersey State Senate. The Pennsylvania members are appointed by the governor and serve without Senate consideration.

The commission maintains 20 bridges along 140 miles of the Delaware River.

“Given that the decisions made by the Delaware River Joint Toll Bridge Commission greatly impact businesses and motorists, it makes common sense to have its members vetted by the Senate,” Scavello said. “It’s well past time for Pennsylvania to catch up to New Jersey and ensure that we are doing our due diligence with the DRJTBC.

Scavello noted that 85 percent of the commission’s revenue comes from DRJTBC District 2 and District 3, which include Monroe and Northampton counties of the 40th Senatorial District.

Senate Bill 927 now moves to the full Senate for consideration.
You can follow Senator Scavello on Twitter and Facebook.

Christine Zubeck
(717) 787-6123